Singer & Songwriter

Nicola Roberts

Nicola Roberts is an English singer and songwriter. After auditioning and successfully completing the reality television series and competition Popstars The Rivals, Roberts became part of girl-group Girls Aloud.

Their debut single “Sound of the Underground” topped the UK Singles chart.

This success helped them win the competition and they were later entered in Guinness World Records as the most successful reality television music-group.

The group enjoyed 20 consecutive top ten singles, spawning five albums and positive critical responses.

  • Full name: Nicola Maria Roberts
  • Born: 5 October 1985, Stamford, United Kingdom
  • Profession: English Singer and Songwriter
  • Height: 1.65 m
  • TV shows: Popstars: The Rivals, Girls Aloud: Off the Record, The Girls Aloud Party, Passions of Girls Aloud
  • Music group: Girls Aloud (2002 – 2013)
Follow Nicola Roberts on Social media

Nicola Roberts Quotes

About Nicola Roberts

Roberts was born on 5 October 1985 in Stamford, Lincolnshire, United Kingdom.

At the time of her birth, her father was working for the RAF and the resulting pay led to financial struggles which saw her father move to work for Ford Motor Company whilst her mother became a photographer to help the family monetary problems.

She grew up in Runcorn, Cheshire and attended St Chad’s High School. In school Roberts found herself shying away, in contrast to her home life where she was outgoing, even gaining the nickname Cilla from her family after singer Cilla Black.

Academically, Roberts performed well, leaving with 9 GCSEs, but she declared her dislike of school and began discussing a musical career which led her to work with several girl groups recording demo tracks in several cases.

Roberts acknowledged she had always wanted to be a singer and had been entering competitions and auditions with her father accompanying her and gaining support from other family members also.

In an interview with Closer magazine, Roberts spoke about how she started off her musical career at a local disco, as part of a girl band called The 5 Musketeers.


In 2008, after releasing a pale skin make-up collection titled Dainty Doll, Roberts advocated the ban of underage usage of tanning beds with the documentary Nicola Roberts: The Truth About Tanning. Her public stance with a British MP led to a bill which banned under 18s from using tanning beds. In 2011, Roberts released her debut solo album Cinderella’s Eyes and her debut single “Beat of My Drum”.

Both releases received critical acclaim but had mixed commercial success. Two follow-up singles “Lucky Day” and “Yo-Yo” both gained equally positive critical responses but failed commercially.

The album was described as electronic-influenced and garnered positive reviews and peaked at number 17 in the United Kingdom.

In November 2012, Roberts reformed with Girls Aloud and in 2013, toured for the first time in over four years on their Ten: The Hits Tour. Girls Aloud split following the tour’s conclusion.

In February 2020, she won the first series of ITV’s The Masked Singer UK, masked as Queen Bee.

Nicola Roberts Quotes